SF in SF header image 1

Pat Murphy

Author web site

Pat Murphy is an award-winning science writer and author of science fiction and fantasy novels. In 1986, her second novel, The Falling Woman, and her novelette, “Rachel in Love”, won Nebula Awards. Her short story collection, Points of Departure won the Philip K. Dick Award in 1990, and her 1991 novella, “Bones”, won the World Fantasy Award. More recently, her book, The City Not Long After, was brought back into print by Firebird, and in 2008, her young adult novel, The Wild Girls, made the ALA Notable Book List, and won the Christopher Award for books for ages 10-12 published in. Previously at the Exploratorium in San Francisco, she now plays with toys at Klutz. Together with Karen Joy Fowler, Murphy co-founded the James Tiptree, Jr. Award in 1991 at WisCon, and she makes fabulously entertaining balloon hats. It’s a gift.

The following news posts are about Pat Murphy

  • Podcast: Pat Murphy & Madeleine Robins
  • April Reading – Pat Murphy, Jewelle Gomez & Madeleine Robins
  • Jo Walton and the Tiptree Award
  • FOGCon: March 11-13
  • Brazen Hussies Tonight
  • Pat Murphy Reading Today
  • June Podcasts Available
  • Books for June
  • June Reading